Just another WordPress.com site

April 2012 Plans

Another week, another update on the blog I abandoned for almost a full year. 

I am still planning to transfer this entire blog to my new author blog, as soon as I decide exactly what I’m going to call it.  That will be a time-consuming process, so basically I’m just too lazy to get cracking on it.  The good news is that once I do finally have that blog up and running, I’m hoping to consolidate all of my writings there, so “The Notice”, “Naked in Korea”, and all of my future books will be there in one place with excerpts, updates, and reviews.  I’ll also update it from time to time with more random stuff like my Gotye zombie cover which garnered quite a few hits. 

I’m currently blazing through the sci-fi story I’ve been drafting for the last few months.  I have almost 20,000 words in the bag on it and I’ve only been writing for a little over a week on that.  If I had any initiative at all, I’d probably be done with it by the end of May but as busy as I am with other stuff, I think that book will land on Amazon in some capacity by August.  Still, I am very, very excited about the story.  Some will cry that I’m ripping off “Hunger Games”, but I will have a blog post listing 20 reasons why I’m not. 

#1:  I’ve never ever read the damn thing.  All I know for certain is my book has little in common with the movie.

My dystopian novel is a future apocalyptic scenario…about soccer.  Dystopian books can be so cliche and contrived in our society, but I don’t know of one that deals with the game of soccer.  I’ve got a good story outlined with decent characters and, of course, unexpected turns.  I’m amped for people to read it.  I can already say I’ve never had so much fun writing a book and that has made the process easier.  The tentative title is “The Last Cup” (as in World Cup), but that could change.

 

One response

  1. If it makes you feel any better, I heard that Hunger Games was kinda ripped off from Battle Royale. No one seems to care about that, so I’m sure you’ll be fine. : )

    April 20, 2012 at 7:29 pm

Leave a Reply

